Hello world!

I’ve been meaning to start a blog for a long time now. I always put it off or put myself down. I wanted to be sure that I would always have enough content and never let readers down by notposting regularly. I’ve realised now that the best way is to just do it!
And that motto (I’m sure Nike have patented it by now…) is one of the reasons I wanted to start a blog in the first place. I want to encourage people to experiment and try things they wouldn’t normally have tried. Initially, when I thought about starting a blog, I knew I wanted it to be about lifestyle and be personal, but my lifestyle and what I want to write about is different to the usual “lifestyle” blogs that are out there that are sometimes too materialist and consumer-driven for my liking.
To tell the truth, I’m a bit of a hippie and am trying hard to change my own ways and do my bit for the environment. But I don’t want to preach about sustainable living or a zero waste lifestyle; I would rather be positive, share knowledge and encourage a different outlook on life.
Fundamentally, I believe that new experiences enrich our lives more than anything else. I’ve learnt that the rush of buying a new dress that you secretly know you can’t afford doesn’t compare to the warm glow of satisfaction that you get as soon as you share an experience with a group of people. That’s one of the reasons I love buying food at my local farmer’s market, volunteering with people in the community, or even attending a course with like-minded people!
That is what I would like this blog to be like; a positive, encouraging and fun exchange with like-minded people. So I hope you enjoy reading and please do let me know if you have any content suggestions. I would love to hear from you!
If you would like to find out more about me (and how I got my nickname), read my About page.
Spidermonkeydom
Leave a Reply

