This week, in the jungle… Vol. 2

WP_20150606_004

My mum left on Tuesday morning – it already feels like ages since then! It was good to see her but also bliss to have the house to ourselves again and get back into my usual morning exercise regime.

I found out about the Wildlife Trusts’ 30 Days Wild challenge this week, so I signed up straight away! If you want to find out more about it and why I signed up, read my blog post. As part of the 30 Days Wild challenge, I’ve been going for long walks, purchasing and eating locally grown food from the farmer’s market, being mindful of waste (in particular plastic) and doing some wildlife spotting. If you want to see what I get up to each day, follow me on Twitter!

WP_20150606_008

I’ve probably already doubled my knowledge of garden birds this weekend because we went to Mid Wales to see my (quasi) in-laws! They have bird feeders in the garden, a large-ish pond and live quite rurally, so it’s a great opportunity to see lots more wildlife than we would in the city. There are lots of red kites in the area, it’s lovely to see them frolicking around in the air chasing one another. I also saw swallows, woodpeckers, greenfinches, wrens, blue tits and heard a lot of skylarks! We also went to the beach where there were lots of washed up jellyfish! It was very windy there, but the sort of wind that makes you feel alive and exhilarated. I ran into it, skipping across the pebbles and leaping over rock pools to explore the open space. I’ve been thinking back on that walk today and realise how much I love the sea and would probably feel most at home if I lived somewhere near the coast when I decide to up sticks and leave this urban jungle.

WP_20150606_011

How was your weekend? Have you signed up to the 30 Days Wild challenge? There’s still time, I dare you ;)!

Leave a Reply

