Links to Inspire

A couple of things across the world wide web that have inspired me this week.

Trudi Murray: The artist who nearly gave up before she had even started

Trudi-Murray-2-Juliet-Mckee-Photography-1024x684
Image of Trudi’s studio space from the Folksy article

I loved reading this story about artistic self-doubt. I know that often I’m my own worst critic and not even family or friends can persuade me otherwise! It helps to read an article like this about someone who is in a similar position and who has become successful despite the doubt. Read the full article on the Folksy website.

Raymond Blanc’s carrot cake recipe

CarrotCake_MAIN_IMAGE
Image from the Raymond Blanc website

This carrot cake recipe from Raymond Blanc’s Kew on a Plate book and TV series looks absolutely delicious and I’ve got the perfect excuse to make it – it will use up the scraps of marzipan that I couldn’t bear to throw away after making the Christmas cake. I can already imagine tucking into this cake on a cold and wet autumn afternoon.

Let’s pull together to #HelpCalais

Every night I watch the news I feel desperately sad for the asylum seekers who are looking for safety in Europe and immensely frustrated by the lack of a joined up and organised approach from all EU members. But there is something we can all do to not feel completely hopeless.

The last couple of days I’ve come across various petitions and charity pages you might want to visit to help. My local MP is collecting donations of men’s clothes and camping paraphernalia for migrants camped in Calais, yours might be doing the same so check their social media. This is a petition to the UK government to accept more asylum seekers and refugee migrants to the UK. There is also a crowdfunding page called Kent for Calais where you can donate money to buy shoes, building materials, food and medicines for refugees in Calais.

Crochet monster

img_4021
Image from Rural Rebellion blog

On a more cheerful note, I’ve got my crochet mojo back after lately losing my inspiration. I’m currently working on a crochet Cthulhu monster. For those of you who don’t know Cthulhu, it’s a mythical deity created by the sci-fi horror writer H. P. Lovecraft and is part octopus, part man, and part dragon.The free pattern is available from the Rural Rebellion blog.

2 thoughts on “Links to Inspire

    1. Thanks! I’ve almost finished mine, just need to make the wings, stuff it (I’ll be using a bag of wool off-cuts from a blanket I made) and sew it together. I’ll post a picture here or on Twitter when it’s done.

      Like

Leave a Reply

