This week, in the jungle… Vol. 15

Beautiful waterlilies at Kew Gardens
Beautiful waterlilies at Kew Gardens

After various little trips away, I feel fully energised and ready to take on the world. This week I’ve been more positive in work, finally back to eating healthily and doing exercise, crocheting and doodling more. My brain is awash with ideas. And despite my home internet not working properly, I’ve been keeping positive and have still been able to keep up with my blog schedule. This is how I like it!

I’m writing this post on a Friday, just in case the weekend swallows up all of my time, because there are a lot of exciting things going on and on Sunday I figure I might just need to sleep! I will have been to see Mark Lanegan at the local Student Union on Friday night. On Saturday I have an early wake up call; I’ve enrolled on a British Wheel of Yoga (BWY) Foundation Course/Level 1 which is intended to deepen understanding and home practice of yoga in its entirety (not just asana practice). It’s the first step towards teacher training with BWY. I was lucky to find a course that’s relatively nearby but still need to travel to get there.

WP_20150904_002
Mark Lanegan performing in the Student Union

My boyfriend surprised me with tickets for the rugby on Saturday evening. Wales are playing Italy in a pre-World Cup friendly. I don’t pretend to be as rugby mad as pretty much every Welsh person I’ve ever met, but I do show an interest in the big events (Six Nations etc) and have been to see the local team.

WP_20150905_005
Wales v Italy in the Millenium Stadium

Sunday I plan to unleash the domestic goddess that I know is lurking inside me somewhere and make some soda bread (this recipe looks amazing), soup for the week ahead, a crustless quiche and some homemade granola.

This week’s likes:

Getting back on track with life – Excited to see my little brother soon – Revisiting my photos from Kew Gardens, it’s so beautiful there – Looking forward to autumn – Making the most of wearing my sandals while the weather holds – Trying out a new natural lip colour from Burt’s Bees – Getting my crochet mojo back

WP_20150903_004

WatchLife in Squares, a 3-part series about the Bloomsbury Group which I thought was really engaging TV/ Dracula with Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing

WP_20150903_001

WP_20150903_014

Eat – A cheeky Chinese takeaway (I’ve been craving Singapore noodles for the longest time)/ British blackberry and banana yoghurt bowl topped with local honey/ Aubergine and Potato Curry/ Carrot ‘risotto’ (intended as a soup but the pearl barley soup mix I used thickened up more than I expected)/ Cream cheese and oatcakes (my new in-work snack)/ Chilli con carne/ Kielbasa hash with sausage from Poland/ Flaxseed flapjacks (yummy!)

Listen – Vintage Silverchair that takes me back to my teenage years/ The Cult/ The Graveltones’ new album Love Lies Dying; can’t wait to see them in a couple of weeks/ Rainbow

ReadThe Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris

How do you guys feel about autumn approaching? What’s your favourite season? I’ve been thinking about creating an autumn to-do list, like I did for summer. So I’ve love to know if you have any autumn rituals?

Leave a Reply

