Chorizo, Pepper and Potato Tortilla

WP_20150807_001
My first attempt at a summer squash tortilla in my lunchbox

A couple of weeks ago I was stuck in a lunchtime rut. I’d run out of ideas for my lunchbox after having salads and oatcakes all summer. I wanted something that was easy to prepare on the weekend and chuck into my lunch bag during the week.

I’d been keen to try my hand at making a quiche for a while. On the hunt for a suitable recipe (without cheese), I thought: “Wouldn’t it be so much easier without the crust?”

I had a look at various crustless quiche recipes but they still all had cheese (my partner’s nemesis). So I decided to make my own version, a cheeseless, crustless quiche, or put simply a Spanish style tortilla!

The first time I made this I used some yellow summer squash and courgette with red onion. This recipe uses cooked potatoes and chorizo, but you can truly throw in whatever your heart desires (even cheese). The chunkier you leave the vegetables, the more rustic the tortilla.

WP_20150809_035

You will need:

6 eggs

Chopped chorizo (2 small sausages or half a circle, or less depending on your taste)

6-8 new potatoes, chopped (I left the skin on, you could also try 2 larger potatoes instead)

1 red or green pepper, chopped

1 red onion, chopped

A small splash of milk

2 tbsp sunflower oil

½ tsp Thyme

½ tsp Pepper

Pinch of Salt

Preheat the oven to 180C and grease an ovenproof dish with the sunflower oil (I used a rectangular ceramic dish with high sides).

WP_20150809_036

Heat the oil in a frying pan and saute the onion, chorizo, potato and peppers until cooked through (make sure the potatoes are done, or just add ones you’ve cooked already). Add a pinch of salt, half a teaspoon of thyme and the same of pepper.

WP_20150809_037
Oops. I forgot the peppers…

Whisk together the eggs and milk. Add the sautéed vegetables and meat, and combine until everything is coated with egg.

WP_20150809_038

Pour the tortilla mixture into the baking dish and bake in the oven for 20 minutes, or until the mixture is cooked through and slightly browned at the top. Set aside to cool and store in the fridge.

You can eat it cold with a salad or heat it up for a quick, easy and nutritious lunch. It’s also great for picnics or with what we like to call a ‘buffet dinner’, a meal made up of different cold cuts, nibbles and salads.

What’s your go-to lunch? Do you like to prepare ahead or grab whatever is in the fridge that morning? If you try this recipe, let me know what you think!

One thought on “Chorizo, Pepper and Potato Tortilla

Leave a Reply

