This week, in the jungle… Vol. 16

A bouquet of maple leaves
A bouquet of maple leaves

I do believe that autumn is upon us! I recently saw pumpkin spice lattes being advertised outside Starbucks. The leaves are on the turn here and despite it not raining, the days have taken a long time to warm up with very chilly mornings (I’m sitting at my desk in my coat with a cup of tea as I write this…). I think tonight is the night I will finally get my jumpers down from the attic, I’m clearly already in need of them. Stay tuned for an Autumn To-do list post on the blog next week.

Street Art by Nick Walker spotted in Bristol
Street Art by Nick Walker spotted in Bristol

For the whole of August and September I’ve been really excited because my little brother booked a flight to come and visit me. My brothers and I are very close but we don’t get to see each other more than once a year, because they live abroad. Even though we don’t see each other very often, speak or email (they’re rubbish at responding to emails), I know that we’ll just fall back into our usual comfortable relationship when we see each other. I can’t wait to hear what he’s been up to directly from the horse’s mouth and lavish my time on him.

WP_20150911_004
A cheeseless fresh Hawaian pizza in the Stable (with extra chilli!)

My brother is really interested in beer and would like to make it his full-time job one day. He’s already an amazing brewer on a small scale and his palate is very well-honed. So we’ll be visiting the best pubs for real ale in Cardiff and Bristol, stopping for a spot of cider and pizza in the Stable. Hopefully the weather will also be good enough for a long walk on Sunday (maybe Pen y Fan mountain?) and a roast dinner. The makings of a blissful autumn weekend…!

This week’s likes:

WP_20150910_001
Lovely ripe apricots for breakfast

Spending time with my little brother – Having a little cat visitor in our house by accident – Friends posting pictures with new and extremely cute pet additions to their homes – Ab-DOMS after doing a core circuit workout – Finding out that the Stable is opening a restaurant in Cardiff

Watch – A new BBC adaptation of Lady Chatterley’s Lover with Richard Madden (aka Robb Stark). It’s awful, if you love the book trust me and don’t watch it!/ Also, The White Countess, a film about Shanghai in the late 1930s with a screenplay by Kazuo Ishiguro.

WP_20150906_002
Mixing up the batter for my carrot cake

Eat – Healthy potato salad/ Broccoli and chickpea stir fry/ Smoked mackerel fishcakes (look out for the recipe coming up on this blog soon)/ Buckwheat burritos/ Carrot cake with peanut butter ice cream/ Lovey apricots

Listen – I haven’t been listening to much music recently, apart from BBC Radio 6 in work. Monster Truck and Björk have been on my mp3 player.

Read – I finished The Gospel of Loki this week/ I just started reading the Count of Monte Cristo. I found the plot in its various film adaptations quite hard to follow as a child, so I’m hoping that reading the original clears it all up for me!

Do you guys live far from your families? How often do you get to see one another? Have you got your winter wear out of the attic yet? What’s your favourite thing about autumn?

 

 

Leave a Reply

