Healthy German-style potato salad

Potato salad

I have to admit that potato salad is one of my favourite foods, especially the mayonnaise-heavy kind my German grandma makes. The UK supermarket versions don’t even come close – I would know, I’ve tried many of them to curb a potato salad craving!

Due to its unhealthy credentials and my efforts to eat better, more wholesome food, I stopped eating potato salad. But I’m a keen cook and I love to mix, match and substitute ingredients. I also like to have my cake (or potato salad) and eat it (in moderation). So I recently channelled my creative cooking instincts into making a potato salad that is as delicious as my grandma’s homemade version, but is far healthier and vegan to boot (unless you like to add hard boiled eggs to yours).
In order to make it without mayonnaise (and therefore much better for you), I’ve added a secret ingredient which I’ll share with you below.

Potato salad

Serves 4-6 (as a side)

You will need:

Baby potatoes (I used about 10 the last time I made this recipe)
1 tin of the secret ingredient (Chickpeas!)
1 jar of gherkins/ pickled dill cucumbers (with juice)
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1 red onion (optional)
Peas (frozen or tinned, but I prefer the texture of tinned here – optional)
Hard boiled eggs (chopped – optional)
Chopped fresh dill
Sugar, salt and pepper

Boil your baby potatoes with the skin on (for extra nutrition) until they’re cooked through and drain. Set aside to cool.
While the potatoes are on the go, drain your chickpeas and add them to a food processor (you’ll need this to get them creamy for perfect mayo imitation). Add some of the gherkin juice (straight from the jar) to the chickpeas and the Dijon mustard. Whizz everything up until you get a good dressing consistency (I like it quite thick). Pour the dressing into a salad bowl.
One of my optional extras for this potato salad is red onion. Finely chop the onion and put it into a small bowl with ½ tsp sugar and a pinch of salt. Let the onion sit for about 5 minutes for the juices to seep out – this will make the onion milder and much more pleasant to eat raw – and then add to the dressing.
Chop up several gherkins, the more the merrier, and add to the dressing with salt and pepper to taste. If using peas, drain (tinned) or thaw (frozen) and, if you’re using eggs, chop them up. Add both ingredients to the salad dressing. Finally, add the potatoes and give everything a good stir, coating each potato with the creamy mayo-less sauce.

Potato Salad
This potato salad is perfect as a side dish for BBQs, burgers or similar hearty American food. You could also take it to a potluck dinner with friends (something I’ve always wanted to do). I hope you enjoy my healthier take on a traditional German potato salad!

Are there any “unhealthy” foods that you crave? Have you found more healthy recipes or been able to make healthy versions of them yourself? I’ve love to know what your “crave” foods are and please do share recipe links!

2 thoughts on “Healthy German-style potato salad

Leave a Reply

