A weekend in the country

Last weekend we went to visit family near Aberystwyth. I went to University there and, despite it being a pretty little seaside town set in beautiful countryside, it wasn’t exciting enough for me as a student. After three years I couldn’t wait to leave. I swore to myself I would never return! But then I met my boyfriend who hails from there, and all my vows went out the window pretty quickly…

Since we’ve been together I’ve been to visit this part of Wales quite often and have fallen a little bit in love with it. I’m grateful to have this calm countryside oasis to visit. It’s a place where nothing much happens, unless we run into a sheep that’s escaped from the field on our walk with the dog (definitely not calm then)! It’s the perfect place to recharge batteries and regain some creative spark. This is a diary of my weekend, in photos.

Countryside views

Lillies in the pond
Boot socks Handknitted boot socks (made by my mum)

Walking boots

Countryside viewsRosehipsPrimrose and insectPrimrose and insectBlackberry stained fingersBlackberry stained fingersBlackberry forageForest walk

Whizzing past the pinecones on a forest walk
Whizzing past the pinecones on a forest walk

Friday: We went for a walk with the dog, had a fish and chip supper with yoghurt for dessert, sat around the fire playing sudoku and watching have I got news for you. I was so tired from eating and sitting on the sofa I went to bed early!

Saturday: A walk with the dog after breakfast. I spent some time reading the Big Issue, playing sudoku, discuss life plans with the family and looking for houses. We had soup for lunch and I tmanaged to twist my boyfriend’s arm to take me to the Robert Mapplethorpe photography exhibition in the local Arts Centre. Then we went blackberry picking and walked the dog. After a late oyster chicken supper (we were too full for dessert) we settled down to watch a Joy Division documentary and listened to music while drinking beers.

Sunday: I caught up on sleep with a lie-in, then read the Count of Monte Cristo with my breakfast. We went on a long walk with the dog through the muddy forest. Then it was already time to start packing up and loading the car. We were spoiled with a cooked breakfast for lunch and sat around the pond drinking coffee before it was time to say goodbye, until the next visit.

I hope you enjoyed my photo diary. Do you love the country or are you more of a city person? Where’s your calm oasis? I’ve love to hear your comments below.

Leave a Reply

