This week I’m craving…

This week I’m craving… earthy vegetables, melty cheese, an old takeaway favourite and the odd cinnamon-heavy sweet dessert.

My culinary inspiration for the week ahead:

Mushroom and taleggio toastie

Toastie
Image captured from BBC website

I suppose toasties aren’t the healthiest option for lunch, or so the anti-carb brigade would have you believe. Everything in moderation I say. This week I’m really hankering for the warm fuzzy feeling that only gooey melted cheese, juicy earthy mushrooms and a wholesome seeded loaf will provide after reading this Nigel Slater recipe. Why not have a toastie party and try other toppings like mozzarella and tomato or go Hawaiian with pineapple, ham and a sharp mature cheddar.

Apple pie or crumble

ApplePie
Image from BBC Good Food

An apple pie or crumble is the ubiquitous autumn dessert. Often I can’t be bothered with pastry – especially the sweetcrust kind that needs a while in the fridge before baking – so I just end up making a crumble, which is equally delicious on a weekday night. But this week I think I will make the effort and carve out some time to make a more special dessert with this recipe from BBC Good Food.

Creamed beetroot soup

Beetroot soup
Image from food loves writing

On a recent trip to Germany I tried some beautifully pink creamed beetroot soup and I’ve been meaning to recreate it ever since. Just the ticket for adding a bit of colour to a cold and bleak autumn day. I’ve found this deliciously versatile recipe from food loves writing, but I’ll probably just make it up as I go along, adding some frozen vegetables I used to make stock for a barszcz (clear beetroot broth) for bulk and crème fraiche instead of cream.

Chinese mince lettuce cups

ChineseLettuceCups
Image from The Kitchn

The humble lettuce cup is one of my Chinese takeaway favourites. I’ll be making these tonight, spicing my minced beef with slivers of garlic and a splash of hoisin sauce, served inside crispy little gem lettuce leaves. If you’re game to try these at home, this looks like a great recipe.

Cinnamon rolls

Cinnamon Rolls
Image from The Minimalist Baker

I’m meeting a friend for a midweek after work coffee, so I’ll probably be indulging in a cafe-bought cinnamon roll. I have made my own in the past and the effort and time put in is definitely worth it! I love the look of this vegan pumpkin cinnamon rolls recipe by the Minimalist Baker for the next time I make my own.

What’s on your menu this week? Are any of these dishes making your mouth water?

Leave a Reply

