This week, I’m craving…

This week I’m craving simple vegetable suppers and dishes that remind me of holidays past.

My culinary inspiration for the week ahead:

Stuffed acorn squash all’amatriciana

Stuffed Acorn Squash All’Amatriciana
Image from Natural Kitchen Adventures

This year we went to Rome for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday. I’ve been to Rome before, but this was truly one of the best holidays I’ve ever been on. I took extra trouble to find out about the best restaurants and savour traditional Roman cuisine. In one of them, I tasted my first bucatini all’amatriciana and even thought I don’t particularly like pork, I loved it. The saltiness of the bacon married with the tanginess of the tomatoes, and mess everywhere of course – bucatini aren’t the easiest pasta to eat. I’m looking forward to trying this recipe using of the lovely farmer’s market squashes that are coming in to season.

Pappardelle with leeks

Pappardelle with leeks
Image from the Letters to Nigel Slater blog

I discovered a blog called Letters to Nigel Slater this week. I don’t make a secret of the fact that I am a big fan of Nigel’s writing and his recipes…two of my favourite things brought together. This simple and understated recipe brings the humble leek to the forefront of your midweek supper.

Vegetable tortilla

WP_20150807_001Recently, I’ve been craving simpler suppers that don’t take much time to put together or leave you incapable of doing anything but patting your food baby and falling asleep on the sofa (there’s enough of that to come for Christmas). Comfort food like jacket potatoes or my own fridge-clearing tortilla recipe is what I want. I’ll put an autumnal slant on it by using whatever veggies I find at the farmer’s market this week. The tortilla is such a versatile dish. Who knows? It could be a broccoli and smoked salmon or a bacon and squash sort of week.

Mulled cider

Mulled cider
Image from JamieOliver.com

I couldn’t imagine a more perfect drink for Bonfire Night than a cup of hot mulled cider or spiced apple juice. Put it in a thermos and take it out with you when you go to watch the beautiful lights in the sky or have it sitting in your comfiest chair at home while you try to calm your pets. This recipe should see you through the cold night.

What’s on your menu this week? Are any of these dishes making your mouth water?

Leave a Reply

