This week, in the jungle… Vol. 24

Planning financesThis week I’ve been taking stock of my finances. In the last couple of months, I’ve been struggling to save money as well as afford the lifestyle that I’m currently leading. I don’t go out on shopping sprees for clothing and I’m not an impulse buyer in the supermarket. However, I do love experiences and that’s what I tend to spend my money on. Whether it’s a short trip abroad, a weekend stay in a different city to catch up with friends, a ticket to see a band I love or a meal out with my boyfriend. These are the expenses that add up.

With our New Zealand holiday in March rapidly coming upon us and Christmas looming, I’ve got to start cutting back and rethinking the trips we’re tempted to book (for example I’m itching to go to Scotland for my birthday in January). It’s too late for some plans – I’m going to London soon to visit a friend – but hopefully, in time, more careful planning will become second nature and I’ll have diverted quite a few pennies into my savings. After all, in New Zealand I won’t want to scrimp on the experience because it’s the trip of a lifetime.

Soggy leaves
Soggy leaves – a good time to get my wellies out

I’m starting with this weekend. It will be mostly quiet, in part no doubt due to the soggy weather we’ve been having. This Saturday, I’m off to the Welsh valleys for my monthly British Wheel of Yoga foundation course. And I’m looking forward to spending Sunday making a roast dinner with all the trimmings, reading magazines and thinking about my next crochet project.

This week’s likes:

Magazine and a hot drink
Drying off in Pret with a hot apple infusion and a Big Issue

Finding a long lost stash of interior magazines – Running in the rain – Finishing off homemade raspberry vodka on a lazy Sunday afternoon – The ritual preparation of a roast dinner – A hot spiced apple infusion in Pret

Watch – The Mexican/ Spectre in the cinema – I loved seeing the scenes in Rome, we were there while they were filming/ War and Peace (the Audrey Hepburn version)

Spanish tortilla, salad and pate lunch
A midweek lunch – Spanish tortilla, pate on homemade bread and a simple salad with artichoke hearts

Eat – Spanish tortilla/ Hazelnut milk porridge with raspberries/ Veggie burrito and giant chocolate buttons/ Hoisin stir fry/ Jacket potatoes/ Sweet chilli salmon/ Beef roulades

Listen – Bjork/ Fireworks and barking dogs…I always feel so sorry for animals and any pet owners on Bonfire Night and New Year’s. Firework season seems to get longer every year, prolonging the unnecessary stress for animals.

Read – The Professor by Charlotte Bronte/ A Young Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov/ Magazines galore (the Big Issue, an old Elle Decoration, the current Oh Comely body issue and The Simple Things November edition)

Do you every find yourself living above your means? How often do you re-evaluate your finances and do you know of any helpful tips or tools?

 

 

2 thoughts on “This week, in the jungle… Vol. 24

  1. No matter how much I earn I usually live pay cheque to pay cheque. It can be stressful at times but in the end, life is short and you can’t take your money with you when you go. So long as the essential bills are paid, I say go for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

