Links to Inspire

A couple of things across the world wide web that have inspired me this week.

A flicker of light

Beeswax candle
Image from The Prarie Homestead

As the weather closes in (it’s been pretty stormy in Cardiff) and afternoons get darker, I’ve been hankering for candles to light up the long cold evenings. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at making my own. There’s something magical about the smell of beeswax candles in particular – they would always sell them at my local Christmas market when I lived in Germany and make beautiful gifts. This beeswax candle tutorial looks straightforward and includes some lovely images.

Have you ever tried making your own candles? Do you have any tips for me?

Will you be my friend?

Illustration by Louise Boulter.
Illustration by Louise Boulter via Standard Issue Magazine

As children we wouldn’t have been embarrassed to ask that question. Why should we be as adults? This article really resonated with me this week. I wouldn’t say that I’ve got a best friend (I don’t think my boyfriend counts, he has to live with me) and find it quite hard to meet people who are on the same wavelength. I live in a city and see new people every day but it’s not often that I actually get to talk to them on a personal level, let alone find out whether we click. I’m done with the politeness and niceties that go with building and cultivating a firm friendship over years and years. Let’s stop beating about the bush. Shall we be friends?

Do you find it difficult to meet people with friend-material? Would you prefer this straight forward approach or would it shock you if someone asked you to be their friend?

What have you touched today?

Visual display of the items a person has touched in 24 hours
Image by Paula Zuccotti via BBC News

I love this project by the designer Paula Zuccotti documenting the objects that people have touched over a 24 hour period. Not only is it intensely interesting for the busy-bodies in us, it’s also a beautifully photogenic collection of unusual and every day utensils used by people from different cultures and professions. Who would have guessed that what you touch could offer such striking visual proof of your profession?

Are there any similarities to your life in any of the photographs?

A drink for winter

Woman dancing with whisky glass in hand
Image from Getty via The Pool

I don’t know why, but whisky always seems like a winter drink to me. I like nothing better than to cosy up on a cold evening after a long soak in the tub with a tot of whisky in my hand and a good book (or episode of Outlander…my guilty pleasure). My brother has an amazing palate and is a bit of a single malt expert, so I always ask him for his opinion on the best. If you’re new to whisky, this article is an interesting introduction. The Blood and Sand cocktail sounds divine!

Do you enjoy whisky? What’s your winter tipple of choice?

What’s inspired you this week? Share your links below!

 

Image credits: 1, 2, 3, 4

 

 

One thought on “Links to Inspire

Leave a Reply

