This week, in the jungle… Vol. 27

Countryside view
A beautiful view from last week’s trip to the countryside

This week I’ve been helping my love prepare for a job interview. I always thought I knew roughly what he did in work, but it turns out I didn’t at all. I’ve always though he ‘just’ analyses data and writes programmes to facilitate processes. But after sitting down with him, reading his cv, and asking him questions based on the job description I’ve found out quite a few things about him that I guess I didn’t really know before or wasn’t aware of.

I’ve found out that he’s quite good at public speaking and often has to present his work to senior management. I discovered that he’s very well respected in the company and his opinions are listened to by many people. He relishes a challenge, takes pride in the work he does, and expects to be suitably remunerated for it which has been a source of frustration for him. Most of all, I’ve realised just how ambitious he is. I think I could learn a lot from him. I don’t usually get to see this side of him. I admire him for these qualities and I feel proud of the person he is.

Maybe you should ask your loved ones what they do. You might find out something you didn’t know about them and become even prouder of their achievements.

Merry Christmas mug
A Christmas mug I was gifted

This week’s likes:

Browsing the Etsy Cardiff & Vale maker’s pop up shop in the Capitol Centre (so many beautiful things!) – Me time on a Friday night, including a good book and all the cheese (that my boyfriend hates) – The wind shaking the leafless tree branches – The Fabric of India exhibition in the Victoria and Albert Museum

Winter berry latte from Cafe Nero
Planning our New Zealand holiday with a winter berry latte

Watch – Power to the People (a documentary about an energy company)/ The Last Kingdom (how good is this getting?? I’m seriously addicted and itching to read ahead)

Eat – Porridge with banana and strawberry jam/ Mesa sunrise cereal with almond milk and blueberries/ Spaghetti Bolognese/ Buffet dinner (aka a jumble of salad, cheese/ham and crackers)/ Scrambled eggs on toast/ Fish and chips/ Barley, carrot, raisin and walnut salad from M&S with extra lettuce

Barley and carrot salad
Eating a salad at my desk

Listen – Eagles of Death Metal/ A Camp/ Royal Blood/ Goo Goo Dolls/ The new Foo Fighters EP St Cecelia

Read – Lorna Doone by R. D. Blackmore

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week, here they are again for you

  • This week I craved traditional British fare, homemade with love, and little flecks of chilli heat
  • I wrote about my choice of name for the blog and the story behind it
  • I curated a list of pre-Christmas crochet projects that won’t make you sick of Santa before Christmas Eve

What have you ben up to this week? Do you know exactly what your friends or partner does? Has finding out made you know them better and admire them more?

Leave a Reply

