This week, in the jungle… Vol. 30

Cutting out stars
Cutting out stars for gift tags

This week has been so hectic, I can’t even get my thoughts straight for this post. My mum has been visiting since Saturday and work on our house is still going strong – this week we’ve started to lay laminate in our front room and re-tile our bathroom. Of course, I tried to be as prepared as possible with a list of various events to keep my mum entertained, occupied, and (perhaps most importantly for my boyfriend) out of the house while he tiles and saws and makes DIY mess.

I’ve ended up running around in a bit of a tizz with scarcely a chance to draw breath, spending most of my time with my mum, and a little (not enough) with my boyfriend mainly to keep him fed and watered apart from the social activities I can’t entangle myself from at this time of year. I haven’t been able to devote much time at all to myself apart from a stolen 15 minutes of ab exercises on Tuesday and an aborted attempt at meditation this morning. In fact, we haven’t even bought Christmas presents yet.

Polar bear puppet
A lifesize polar bear and eskimo team explaining global warming in the local shopping centre
WP_20151215_002
Morris dancers in Cardiff city centre

I’m looking forward to a few snatched moments of down time on Monday and Tuesday after my mum has left and before we head to the in-laws’ for Christmas. Something to be cheerful about is that we’re getting a second hand sofa delivered on Sunday. After 2 years of camping chairs, finally some comfort. I just hope it fits through the door!

This week’s likes:

First Christmas party in new department- Amazing relaxing day at Bath Spa – Getting in the festive spirit with a sing-a-long Christmas concert – Sofa delivery on Sunday – Looking forward to time by myself between Christmas and New Years

Beautiful winter plants in Roath Park
Beautiful winter plants in Roath Park

Watch – Hector (amazing film about homelessness at Christmas time) in the cinema

Eat – Pasta galore at Carluccios/ Pizza galore at Café Citta/ Mushroom and halloumi burger/ Porcini mushroom soup/ Butternut squash soup/ Bangers and mash

Trio of pasta
Trio of pasta at Carluccios
Porcini mushroom soup and crackers
Porcini mushroom soup and crackers
Christmas brownie
Christmas brownie at Jacobs in Bath

Listen – Christmas songs while doing DIY

Read – Sunset Song by Lewis Grassic Gibbon, I want to finish the book before I see the film in the cinema after Christmas

Craft – I’ve been working on my little crochet bird and a chunky crochet scarf (which I had to unravel 2/3 times because I made it too wide for the amount of yarn I have).

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

  • I’ve been craving fuss-free comfort food with a seasonal twist, find my favourite recipes here
  • I shared my childhood Christmas memories
  • I posted a treasure trove of links to inspire to cover your needs this Christmas season such as a guided meditation, an alternative Christmas playlist, and reasons to love winter for all you scrooges

How are your Christmas preparations going? Are your presents all wrapped and the Christmas day itinerary planned? Or are you feeling all over the shop like I am?

 

 

Leave a Reply

