Reflections on 2015

Christmas lights
Image from http://www.freechristmaswallpapers.net

With only a couple of days left to go until Christmas Day, I’m starting to slow down, reflect on 2015, and find some peace and quiet as the year draws to a close.

As I sit here alone with a mug of green tea by my side, the wind howling audibly through the trees, and my windowsill lined with festive cards from colleagues and friends, I feel serene and happy with my life. It’s the calm after the storm, with anticipation for a new year and fresh beginning not quite budding yet. Despite all the ups and downs of the year, which have included leaving a job I loved and plans for our house unravelling, there have been many good times. I’ve travelled (Italy, Poland and Germany), taken leaps of faith (literally, with a treetop adventure), expanded creatively (starting a blog, learning to weave), picked up the pieces (fresh plans for our house), and learnt so much. When you reflect on your year, don’t think about all the things that might not have gone the way you wanted them to, think about the discoveries you’d made, knowledge gained and the people you’ve met along the way. I guarantee it will warm your heart.

I’m going to be taking a blog break for Christmas, but I will be back with a new post on Wednesday 30th December. In the meantime, I wish you all a restful and love-filled Christmas time however you choose to spend it!

Image source

Leave a Reply

