Links to Inspire

Happy New Year to you all!

Here are a couple of things across the world wide web that have inspired me this week.

New Year’s Day bubbles

Champagne saucers
Image from the IWA Wine Blog

I favour moderation rather than cycles of binge-and-deny, especially when it comes to alcohol. I’ve been there and done that when it comes to imbibing on New Year’s Eve, so from experience I now prefer to practise some restraint on the eve in order to celebrate the day sans hangover. For those of you who are toasting the New Year with a little bubbly, can I tempt you with an alternative to prosecco? A classic champagne cocktail served in a champagne saucer (no flutes here!) whisks me straight into the film Casablanca, with irresistibly heroic men, impossibly stylish ladies and the best evening entertainment around. This is the drink to celebrate the New Year in style. May the rest of the year live up to this. Cheers! Have you ever had a champagne cocktail? What’s your New Year’s drink of choice?

Sick of resolutions?

New Year's resolutions
Photograph: Muharrem Aner/Getty

It seems that New Year’s resolutions are more and more out of fashion nowadays. In a world where everyone strives to only share the best of themselves many bloggers and Instagrammers would have us believe that they were born mindful, skinny, beautiful and disciplined and therefore have no need for such an outlandish notions as New Year’s resolutions. This opinion piece may just hold the answer for those of you who are sick of making and not keeping unrealistic New Year’s resolutions or those of you who are already pretty happy with themselves (I applaud you!). Do you typically make resolutions? How good are you at keeping them?

Read a good book

WP_20151104_008

Rather than resolutions, I always start the New Year with good intentions. I enjoy compiling lists of things to do, places to take my camera, blog posts to write and (last but not least important) books to read. I think it’s a lovely idea to have a list of books to read in the year ahead, fall back options when there’s nothing good being released, you’re out of money or inspiration (have a look here for inspiration). Maybe you could have a different theme each year and allocate books to the months accordingly. For example, this December and January I’ll be indulging in The Winter Book, a collection of Tove Jansson’s short stories that evoke a winter wonderland ripe with childlike wonder and the promise of satisfying exploration.

Beat the blues

January blues
Photograph: Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images

Luckily for me I never get the January blues. I love winter and everything that goes with it – scarves, mittens, blankets, woolly socks, snow, skiing, staying at home. I’m also a January baby with my birthday typically falling on the most depressing day of the year (as calculated by swathes of newspapers and online magazines). So I have many causes for celebration in the first month of the year, but I empathise with those of you who hate the chilly season. Here are a couple of helpful, non-patronising tips to help see you through until spring. Do you like January or does it get you down?

What’s inspired you this week? Share your links below!

Image sources: 1, 2, 3 (my own), 4

Leave a Reply

