This week, in the jungle… Vol. 31

Sun in a mug of tea

I saw in 2016 standing on the road outside of our house with a friend watching the fireworks. The New Year surprised us as I showed her the renovation works going on in our house. As the clocked ticked in the seconds after midnight, we quickly rushed across to our friend’s house to kiss our boyfriends, hug friends, and wish everyone at the house party we were attending a happy new year.

 

I must confess I did feel slightly worse for wear on Friday. It must have been the punch. But I didn’t mind. I spent New Year’s Day lounging on our sofa with my boyfriend eating pancakes, half sleeping and half watching Little Women, and reading. I didn’t make the cook-up feast I intended to; instead we had smoked trout on toast – still indulgent for little effort. I also got to use our shower for the first time in a month (we had to retile, so the shower was out of order until the adhesive had dried). After a day of lying about, I’m in full action mode. I’m ready to submit an application for a new job, we’re attaching skirting boards in our bedroom and having carpets installed soon. There’s a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge that we’ve been saving for a special occasion. I don’t feel like waiting for a momentous occasion, all the little things that have been going right for us should be appreciated too. I bought new champagne flutes so we’ll celebrate together tonight. Things are looking up!

This week’s likes:

Time to meet friends – Running again for the first time in ages – Reading a lot – Being able to relax on our new sofa and bed – Making up crochet patterns

Watch – And then there were none/ Star Wars – The Force Awakes/ Star Wards – Episode 4/ The Hobbit (1, 2, and 3)/ Flight of the Concords season 2/ Labor Day

WP_20151229_003

Eat – Christmas dinner/ Tortellini and salad/ Soup and cheese on toast/ Buffet dinners/ Chicken cesar salad/ Tacos/ Curries

Listen – The Cult/ Jeff Buckley/ Page and Plant

Read – Sunset Song by Lewis Grassic Gibbon/ The Establishment by Owen Jones/ The Winter Book by Tove Jansson/ The Lifted Veil by George Eliot/ Roverandom by JRR Tolkien/ First Impressions by Charlie Lovett/ The Aspern Papers by Henry James

WP_20151230_004

WP_20151230_003

Craft – I made a glasses case from scraps of chunky black and tweedy grey wool. The pattern I was following didn’t seem right to me, so I just made my own up instead. Isn’t it lovely when you can magic something beautiful and useful up with odd bits of wool and a metal hook? It will never fail to delight me.

How was your New Year’s Eve? What were you doing as it turned midnight? Do you feel optimistic for the start of a new year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

