This week, in the jungle… Vol. 32

The first week of a new year has passed. Most of us will be back in work, struggling to readjust our mindsets and sleep patterns. I’ve felt slightly out of sorts this week. Reverting from lot of late nights (and subsequent lie-ins) over the Christmas break to my early work hours hasn’t made sleep come easily this week. But slowly I’m getting there again.

Much like last weekend, I’m looking forward to having a lazy one. There will be books and magazines to read, films to watch (I’ve my heart set on When Harry met Sally and Rock of Ages – say cheese!), some cross stitching and crochet to do, plenty of tea to drink and soups to make. Most of these things I can achieve from the sofa, but I’m hoping for a break in the rain to enjoy a little fresh air outside (if all else fails, I’ll just open the windows wide for that burst of crisp cold air). These sorts of weekend are rare, instead of feeling guilty for lounging I’m going to make the most of it.

Pile of magazines and cotton yarn
A pile of magazines and crafts to lounge with

Before I go, I would like to make a little announcement – from now on there will be no Sunday posts. I’m going back to posting 3 times a week rather than 4. I’ve thought quite a bit about this decision. It’s not that I don’t have enough content, in fact most of the time I’m bursting with ideas, but sometimes I do find it difficult to write everything down in a way that I’m happy with. I don’t want to publish anything that isn’t ready – you guys deserve better – and would rather post quality content less frequently than post something I haven’t been able to tinker with more often. I’d also like to keep my weekends as screen-free as possible to give my eyes and mind a break. So I’ll continue to post something food related on Mondays, something general on Wednesdays and I’ll be moving my weekly updates to Fridays. I hope you see the benefits in this and that you’ll continue to support my blog :)!

Salad and pate on toast

This week’s likes:

Date night at Jamie’s Italian – Still love evenings lounging on our sofa – Booking hotels for our NZ trip (most of them have hot tubs, amazing!) – Buying little treats for NZ trip (a flower hair comb for the wedding and a gorgeous organic peshtemel towel) – Gherkins, yum

Watch – The new Beowulf ITV series, I can’t recommend it because there are so many gaping flaws in the script/ The Prestige, one of my fave films ever/ The new BBC adaptation of War & Peace that’s just started/ The FA Cup (it’s a British football thing)

Banana, skyr and muesli breakfast

Eat – Pasta salad (my dad’s German recipe)/ Roast chicken with mushroom gravy/ Hoisin stir fry/ Buffet dinners/ Skyr, muesli and bananas/ Beetroot soup with sour cream/ Fish and chips/ Italian burger

Listen – Desaparecidos/ The Cars/ Thin Lizzy/ Pink Floyd

Read – If on a winter’s night a traveller by Italo Calvino

Beetle cross stitch

Craft – I’m really excited about a beetle trio cross stitch pattern I started this week. I bought it before Christmas from Floss & Mischief. I really love the beetle design (and colours) without the weird feeling of having dead animals/insects displayed in your home. As a cross stitch newbie, the instructions confused me a bit at first, but I decided to dive in and am really enjoying it. So much so, I’ve just bought another pattern (just pdf this time, not the whole kit) to make…

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

How has your first week after the break been? Are you fully refreshed and ready to go, or prefer to start slow and gather pace as the year continues? How are your resolutions going in you made any?

 

 

Leave a Reply

