This week, in the jungle… Vol. 34

Candlelight

You might have read in my previous posts this week that we had a water leak on Sunday evening. We were due to have carpets fitted upstairs on Tuesday, so we spent Sunday preparing by moving all of our belongings downstairs, setting up our bed in the living room, getting rid of the nasty old carpet and fixing floorboards that were slightly loose. Unfortunately, while fitting the final floorboard my boyfriend drilled into a water pipe. Let panic ensue. I was just about to take a shower, so I ran upstairs in my dressing gown to see what all the shouting was about. I got hold of a t-shirt and pressed it on the pipe to stop our new indoor water feature.

Soon after, the lights went out. I was kneeling on ragged floorboard in the darkness of our empty bedroom wearing nothing but a thin dressing gown with hands that were rapidly turning into frozen sausages due to the freezing water spurting from the old copper pipe. I could hear my boyfriend tramping around downstairs. I was literally in the dark. I didn’t know what was happening around me. How do we stop this? What can we do? How do you turn the water off? Where is the stopcock? Do you have a light? By the time the water stopped, all the excess was coming through the ceiling light into our living room. We rescued our displaced boxes and bags and took them back upstairs, sneaking worried glances at the dripping ceiling hoping it wasn’t going to fall down.

With buckets set up and most of our belongings rescued, we called an emergency plumber. The water had stopped so he wouldn’t come until morning. We started mopping the floor and ceiling to the pitter-patter of drips. Washing the ceiling felt like being in topsy-turvy Wonderland. There was nothing else we could do. You feel so out of control that a small measure or repetitive task feels soothing, you’re in control of that little patch of ceiling – don’t let any drips through. In the end we sat down, my boyfriend’s head-torch glaring at me. I could feel my hands shaking from the shock and late flurry of activity. We hadn’t even eaten.

Later, when there were only slight drips and there was no more mopping to do we went out to get chips from the chip shop. We ate them from the newspaper wrapper sat on our sofa, which was in the dining room and still dry. I felt like we’d had a big adventure, like we’d climbed a mountain; I felt alive. Our blankets were wet, so we got our sleeping bags from the attic and made our makeshift bed on the sofa. Camping out in our living room. We started making jokes about our only camping experience as a couple (which was terrible, we hardly slept). My last thought before I finally fell asleep was that a calamity is much less threatening if you approach it like an adventure and that humour is after all the best medicine.

Purple light and shadows
I love watching the shapes my lamp throws onto the ceiling and floorboards

 

Live simply clothes tag
The tag on a cardigan I bought recently. I thought it was a lovely message, it’s good to be reminded of these things.

This week’s likes:

Pavements sparkling with a frosty coat – Cooking in the dark and showers by candlelight – Planning my birthday celebrations around pizza (I turn 29 this weekend, more of my shenanigans next week)

Watch – Dickensian (basically Eastenders in olden times as my boyfriend likes to point out) and more War & Peace which I can’t get enough of!

Eat – Tempeh burger and a Welsh cake ice cream sandwich at Anna Loka (Cardiff’s latest vegan joint, believe the hype!)/ Chip shop chips/ Veggie burger and roasted sprouts/ Spaghetti with pork and fennel meatballs/ Vegetable fajitas/ Strawberry granola/ All the peanut butter!

Listen – You know how organs are basically sound made from blowing air through small to large metal tubes? I’ve been trying to orchestrate the same with dripping water into different sized buckets. Experiment aborted (water too destructive).

Read – January/ February 2016 edition of Landlove magazine/ Daisy Miller by Henry James/ Cloud Howe by Lewis Grassic Gibbon

Craft – I’ve found my craft bag again! It was hidden under a pile of other ‘random stuff’ bags after the upheaval of Sunday. So I haven’t quite finished my beetle cross stitch yet but I’m on the case! Just the sort of soothing task I need to recover from last weekend’s excitement.

Raindrops
I had ample opportunity for taking photos of raindrops this week

 

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

  • I rounded some some simple and always-stylish Scandinavian staple recipes for a different take on healthy January food.
  • Travel inspiration beckons with this list of get-aways I’ve planned for 2016.

Have you ever had a water leak or similarly destructive home disaster? What did you do to cope with it? Could you laugh about it during or afterwards? Do you think we should treat life as on big adventure? Should we all just give up DIY and leave it to the pro’s?

Leave a Reply

