Pitta Pizza

Pitta pizza

Pizza is probably one of my favourite meals, but one that I don’t make very often. Realistically, after a long day at work, I’m not going to ‘quickly’ knock up some dough to satisfy a craving. Pizza dough is easy, but quick it is not. You need to give the yeast time to work its magic and most recipes call for two proving stages as standard. Who has time for that on a weekday night? I’m usually ravenous as soon as I walk through the door.

I’ve come up with a quick fix for my weeknight pizza cravings that doesn’t involve ringing for a greasy takeaway – it’s probably quicker than that and definitely healthier! Introducing your new weeknight saviour…

Pitta pizza

Pitta pizza

Ingredients

2 pitta breads per person – You can use fresh or frozen. I like to keep a pack in the freezer for pizza emergencies. If you’re using frozen, just pop the pittas into the toaster to defrost them before proceeding with the recipe.

Tomato base – Tomato puree, olive oil, water, salt, pepper, sugar, garlic, dried oregano and thyme

Pizza toppings – I often use a variation of chopped peppers, pepperoni, chicken sweetcorn, mushrooms and olives (not all on the same pizza!). Experiment with your favourite pizza toppings or use up what you’ve got in the fridge.

Cheese – my boyfriend doesn’t eat cheese, hence the lack of it in my photos but do add it if you like it. I enjoy a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar.

Instructions

I like to make the pizzas on the grill, but you could use the oven if you want – just keep an eye on the pittas to make sure they don’t burn!

Preheat your grill to the highest setting and lay the pittas out on the tray.

If you’re making your own tomato sauce, mix together tomato puree with water and olive oil until you get a good consistency. I like to use a 60/40 water to olive oil ratio and I prefer the sauce to be on the thick side, so it clings to the spoon and doesn’t run off the pitta. When you have achieved your desired consistency, add a pinch of salt and pepper, ½ teaspoon of sugar, a teaspoon of chopped garlic and ½ teaspoon of dried oregano and time (or mixed herbs) and stir together. Add more seasoning if required.

Pitta with tomato sauce on grill tray

Pitta pizza with tomato sauce and salami on baking tray

Pitta bread with salami and mushroom

Spoon the sauce onto the pitta breads and spread out evenly. Then add your toppings and cheese. I think less is more because I don’t like the toppings to fall off when I’m eating, but you can go wild with them. I like to drizzle a little olive oil over the top of them and sprinkle a bit of chilli or dried oregano before I pop them in the grill for 5-10 minutes. The delicious smells should tell you when the pizzas are ready, the toppings should sizzle and the cheese should be melted and slightly browned.

Pitta pizza grilled

 

Pitta pizza and salad on plate

Now you’re ready to eat! I like to serve them with a simple salad and a side of olives. It’s such a quick and easy meal to make. We have it regularly on weeknights and it certainly hits the spot for those pizza cravings.

I’ve love to hear if you try my recipes. Let me know what you think in the comments!

What are your favourite pizza toppings? Do you have a quick and easy variation on your favourite takeaway meal?

 

4 thoughts on “Pitta Pizza

Leave a Reply

