Links to Inspire

A couple of things across the world wide web that have inspired me this week.

Wonderful libraries

Melk Abbey Library Austria
Library at Melk Abbey in Austria; Image by Emgonzalez – Own work, Public Domain

I really enjoyed reading (and re-reading) this love letter to libraries. I’ve always loved being surrounded by books. I would get frustrated as a child if my mum gave away my favourite books. I started building my own home library as a teenager. I even went so far as to study librarianship and information science at university. After university, to stop myself from becoming too lonely and isolated I used to visit the local library on Saturday mornings to explore and read. I’d frequently come home with heavy bags full of books! Recently my relationship with libraries has changed. This letter was a great reminder that if you love it, but don’t use it, it will be gone or taken away. I’m determined to use my lunchtimes to visit my local library again. Who knows what treasures I’ll unearth (and come home laden with)?

Wonderful homes

The Manse period property Inverness Scotland Highlands
Image from Rightmove

I love looking at pictures of dream homes. Not only is it inspiring, it also cheers me up on bad days. Somehow I’ve always found the thought of uprooting somewhere else, somewhere I could live my dream life, comforting and uplifting. That place for me is the Moray Firth on the east coast of Scotland. When I feel a little bit down, I like to ponder the dream. Part of that is looking at homes there. Some of them are so beautiful! I’ve recently been admiring this cottage, this old manse and this modern eco home. Of course they’re all outside of my price range, but dreaming is free!

Wonderful environment

Cottage with solar panels
Image from Country Living

There are so many ways in which we can all live greener lives. A lot of the focus in the media is on how our wardrobes and food choices can be more sustainable, but our homes can be made environmentally friendly too. From small, inexpensive changes, like using draft excluders to ward off child or larger more substantial changes such as installing solar panels, this article will give you some ideas of where to start.

Wonderful details

Raincloud glitter brooch Litte Moose
Image from Little Moose

 

While blog hopping earlier this week I stumbled upon a feature about a British company called Little Moose. They create modern acrylic jewellery similar to Tatty Divine. Their range is massive and I really love this small raincloud brooch. I’d pin it to the lapel on my winter coat. A fun little detail that would never fail to lift my mood. I’ve been rediscovering brooches lately and different ways of wearing them to incorporate them back into my wardrobe. It’s all in the details. Why not treat yourself? I’m seriously tempted!

What’s inspired you this week? Share your links below!

Image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

3 thoughts on “Links to Inspire

    1. Ohh, thanks for the head’s up on Anna Lou. I really like their Initial Sideways necklace. I’ve been on the hunt for one of those!

      I hope your renovations are going well! I’d love to renovate a period property like a cottage.

      Like

Leave a Reply

