This week, in the jungle… Vol. 38

Magnolia tree with blossoms
Magnolias blossoming on a cold winter’s day

Brrr, it’s cold outside! This morning I was eating my breakfast standing by the French doors. I noticed steam rising behind the fence at the back of the garden. My first thought was that the neighbours whose garden backs on to ours might be burning something. But that thought quickly faded with the realisation that there was no burning smell hovering and that the smoke was too minimal for a fire. I quickly realised that what appeared as some from a fire was actually steam rising from the wooden garden fences which had retained the waning day’s warmth and moisture and was now being released in the cold sunrise.

It’s definitely been a week for thick tights and knee-high boots, for central heating and snuggling under blankets. I’ve even been wearing a jumper to bed as well as my usual legging and long-sleeved top combo. I haven’t been persuaded to go running in the dark and cold evenings. Nights spent watching telly or reading on the sofa have been infinitely preferable, with a homemade mango pound cake for dessert transporting us to the tropics. But the wonderful winter sun hasn’t deterred me from going outside during the day. I’ve been relishing weekend walks and my daily stroll to work. My fingers and toes might be numb, but my body is relishing the movement after these sedentary evenings. Don’t doubt that my fingers have been getting a winter workout too, by adding the finishing touches to a golden crochet shawl. The only thing missing really is a cup of hot chocolate which I’m planning on remedying tonight – cheeky splash of rum optional.

Labradorite ring
A simple little labradorite ring that I’ve been wearing on a daily basis

This week’s likes:

Labradorite gems – Fresh haircuts – A polka dot skirt – The bf returning after a weekend away– Thinking of Scotland – Dogs eager to jump at me

Watch – Zoolander/ Cinderella (the Kenneth Branagh version)/ Empire of the Tsars (a Lucy Worsley documentary about Romanov Russia)/ How to marry a millionaire (a film with Lauren Bacall and Marilyn Monroe)

Eat – Tofu noodle stir fry and spring rolls/ Beer margaritas/ Pitta pizza/ Staffordshire oatcakes with homemade sunflower seed butter/ Minestrone with garlic bread

Breakfast apples oatcakes
A simple breakfast: Apple slices and oatcakes filled with strawberry jam and homemade sunflower seed butter

Listen – Hugh Laurie/ Joni Mitchell/ Frank Turner/ Hellacopters

Read – Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

Craft – My crochet shawl is almost complete. I found some gorgeous leftover wool from a stash my mum left me to use for the edging. It’s navy, red, green and purple all of which go really well with the yellow shawl I think. I’ve also been completing a little jewellery upcycling project that I want to showcase on the blog next week, so stay tuned for that.

Yellow crochet shawl colourful edging

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

  • My recipe for quick and easy pizzas using pitta breads will satisfy those pizza cravings
  • I’ve unearthered some great links to inspire you from across the WWW, including small and large things you can do to make your home more sustainable

How do you like to keep warm in the winter? Do you prefer to go outside or snuggle up in the warm?

 

 

Leave a Reply

