This week, in the jungle… Vol. 39

Transporting succulents

This time next month I’ll be starting a new job. There’s so much to sort out until then – contracts, pensions, clearing desks and taking plants home etc. Along with putting our house on the market, I can tell March is going to be a busy month! As February wanes, I’ve been thinking about how March feels like the perfect month for tying up loose ends before we spring into the warmer months with their different priorities.

Christmas cactus on windowsill

It helps that the weather this week has been beautiful – brisk, cold, but sunny winter days that everyone can’t help but love. It makes being outside a joy, encouraging movement and letting your thoughts roam free. One lunchtime, I bought a pain au raisin and sat outside with a cup of coffee with my sketchpad. I’ve also been feeling like going down to the waterfront and chilling out with a bottle of lager, but I think I might save that for the summer. It’s a bit too chilly for that yet!

This weekend I’m going with simple meals like eggs (not just the chocolate kind) to sustain me, while I spring clean with more than usual vigour (our house being viewed by strangers and all). I’m looking forward to throwing the windows open to let fresh clean air in and blow out the darkness and winter cobwebs.

Church with daffodils in bloom

This week’s likes:

Looking forward to spring fashions –A Lord of the Rings marathon – Resisting payday impulse buys – Getting in the groove of practising meditation – Serendipitous charity shop finds

Watch – Lord of the Rings extended editions/ A history of Scottish art/ Two week’s notice

Eat – Tofu lasagne/ Bratwurst, fried potatoes and sauerkraut/ Open sandwiches with Quorn ham and egg/ Veggie chilli and garlic bread/ Banana yoghurt granola bowl/ Green smoothie

Listen – Bridget Christie being interviewed about her new book – really looking forward to seeing her show later in the year!

Read – The year of living Danishly by Helen Russell/ Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour book store by Robin Sloan

Craft – I finished off my new chunky bead rope necklace and wore it to work for the first time this week.

Chunky bead rope necklace

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

  • After too much gloomy weather, I fancied some tropical-inspired nosh this week. Take a look at my recipe collection here.
  • I posted a tutorial for an upcycled chunky bead rope necklace. I’ve loved wearing my ‘new’ necklace this week. Why don’t you try making your own?

Do you feel invigorated by spring approaching? What loose ends do you want to tie up this month? Are you doing a spot of spring cleaning too (tell me I’m not alone!)?

Leave a Reply

