This week, in the jungle… Vol. 40

If last week was a time of tying up loose ends, this week has been about making strides and setting foundations for the future. Spontaneous resolutions and plans have been set in motion.

 

I’ve starting waking up earlier in the mornings. People always say it’s good to have some time to yourself, to do exercise or just be quiet and potter around before you start your daily grind. I’ve loved it and haven’t been too groggy (even though I dislike being woken by alarms and prefer to wake up naturally regardless of the time).

Pink sunrise

I never realised before how beautiful quiet mornings are. It’s beginning to be my favourite part of the day; waking with the sunrise, having a bowl of porridge quietly by myself and then maybe getting some blogging done or practising some yoga. It’s the luxury of starting a morning with time to yourself, rather than rushing from one thing to another that I’m really beginning to appreciate. It’s giving yourself the time to recognise how you feel and what you’re in the mood to do. I don’t think I’ll ever regret an early alarm call again.

One of the great things about getting up early is that I can go for longer runs. I’ve started increasing my distance. I used to run 10k quite easily but since last summer I’ve been stuck in a bit of a 5k rut. Maybe it’s a seasonal thing. When you’re all wrapped up you don’t tend to want to run far and my bones and muscles feel so much colder and brittle. Hopefully by the time summer comes around I’ll be in the 10k club again.

It turns out waking up early is a serious motivator, both for the working day ahead and for personal goals.

This week’s likes:

Becoming an early bird – Simple white t-shirts – Appreciating good design – Bramley apple pies (highly underrated if you ask me)

Watch – The History of Scottish Art/ The Great Interior Design Challenge/ All three extended Lord of the Rings films – many sitting were required!

Eat – Thai stir fry/ Spaghetti with mushrooms and winter greens/ Chocolate and peach porridge/ Strawberry jam porridge/ Crumpets/ Carrot and kale soup/ Cake

Listen – Hailstones hitting the windows at night.

Read – Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad/ Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne Du Maurier

Craft – I completed a crochet collar this week from some leftover coral coloured wool

This week’s blog posts:

Just in case you missed any of the blog posts from this week:

Are you a night owl or an early bird? Do you prefer some time to yourself in the mornings? And does it make you more productive?

3 thoughts on “This week, in the jungle… Vol. 40

  1. I totally relate to the quiet morning thing. I love waking up early while it’s still dark. My problem is that I also enjoy staying up late and being both a night owl and morning person at the same time does not work for long. I wish I could just be awake all the time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

