A day in the life – Photodiary

In lieu of my usual jungle update, I thought I’d share my routine and the goings-on of a normal working day in my life while I’m on holiday. Here’s a Monday from a couple of weeks ago.

7am: My alarm goes off. I want to snooze for another half an hour but think better of it. My yoga mat awaits. I meditate for 10 minutes and then do 4 rounds of ab exercises.

yoga mat bolster and notebook

Feet on yoga mat

7.50am: I brush my teeth and shower. I head back upstairs to finish getting dressed and adding finishing touches (eyeliner, mascara and a chunky rope and bead necklace I recently made).

8.20am: I have breakfast – banana and granola with soy yoghurt – whilst texting my boyfriend who is away at a conference.

8.45am: On my walk to work I hear someone blasting Thin Lizzy’s Whiskey in the jar from their car radio. I feel like it’s a good start to the day!

9am: I get into work and make myself my first hot drink of the morning, a cup of Whole Earth instant decaf (I try not to have coffee every day). I start checking work emails and social media.

10.20am: Tea break in work. It’s someone’s birthday and they’ve brought in cakes. I managed to avoid them but pick up a mini Toblerone.

1pm: I’m lucky enough to work within walking distance of home. I head over and heat some tofu lasagne in the microwave for my lunch. I potter about doing the washing up and then take some bags to the local charity shop. I make a lucky find in the charity shop – a plain frame to display my cross stitch beetles.

2pm: Back in work, time for a cup of lemon green tea.

3.20pm: Second tea break, I’m still avoiding the cakes.

5pm: Homeward bound. I stop off in Tesco on the way home to pick up some groceries. When I get home I make myself a cup of builder’s tea and get changed into my yoga clothes.

5.40pm: I have an early dinner because I have a yoga class later. It’s a French style salad with Quorn smoky ham, chunks of cheese and boiled egg and a slice of rye bread. With dinner I watch an episode of The history of Scottish art and do a bit of sketching.

French style salad

Yoga mat and water bottle

7pm: I walk to the yoga studio.

9pm: I’m home again and prepare a peppermint tea before reading some more of my current book (Mr Penumbra’s 24 hour book store).

10pm: I get ready for bed and go to sleep.

Do you tend to stick to a routine during the week? How do you spend your lunch breaks – running errands or relaxing? What would your perfect weekday look like?

Leave a Reply

