Why I bake without eggs + 2 of my favourite recipes

Buttercream and walnut topped muffins in clue cases
Cinnamon-spiced eggless muffins with chai buttercream

Most people are astonished when they try my baked goods and find out that I haven’t used eggs or dairy. My cinnamon muffins with chai buttercream frosting (a vegan recipe) have been hits whenever I’ve made them for office dos. Baking without eggs is something I trialled when I started restricting the amount of animal products I eat to lessen my impact on the planet. Free range and organic eggs can be expensive, so I wanted to enjoy them in their natural state, as the main feature of a meal, rather than as an addition to something. That’s how I started experimenting with eggless recipes and I’ve never looked back.

Baking without eggs is seen as especially difficult. How could you possibly recreate the rich buttery goodness of a Victoria sponge, or the gooey inside of a brownie? Well, I have ways and means and have tried a fair few recipes to find out what works and what doesn’t! Eggless baking is cheaper, can be lower in calories (depends on the substitute you’re using) and will probably spare you a mad dash to the shops if you find you need/want to bake and have run out! My favourite egg substitutes are a roux sauce (made by slowly heating water and flour together to form a gloopy mixture), a flax ‘egg’ (ground flaxseed or chia mixed with water) or bananas which lend your recipes a fruity flavour. You can vary your method depending on the type of baked goods you’re making. This chart is a particularly handy resource from She Knows.

baking without eggs from Sheknows.com
Image from Sheknows.com

There are so many amazing vegan chefs out there with some great eggless recipes. These are two of my favourite all-rounders that I adapt regularly with different flavours.

Blissful Blueberry Banana Spelt Muffins from Oh She Glows

I love making these muffins with blueberries, but have also tried them with raspberries and blackberries. I think apple and cinnamon would also be an amazing autumnal combination that I can’t wait to try. We eat these for breakfast or snacks when we’re hungry after work. Gorgeous with a cup of tea!

Vegan Chocolate & Hazelnut Brownie from Yoga Kitchen

This is a great recipe for basic fail-safe brownies. I’d adapted this recipe so many times. An old favourite is using frozen gin-soaked blackberries from our pre-Christmas liquor-making; another is a dark chocolate and peanut butter adaptation. These make a great dessert heated up with some double cream or a scoop of ice cream!

Do you ever bake without eggs? What are your tips or favourite recipes for eggless baking?

2 thoughts on “Why I bake without eggs + 2 of my favourite recipes

Leave a Reply

