This week, I’m craving…

This week I’ve been feeling particularly lazy and not in the mood for cooking much. There’ll be no 4 course meals with cocktails and wine choices to match from me, I’m afraid. But I can share some of my favourite lazy recipes for you; dishes that taste great and will delight your taste buds but don’t require much time or effort at all. Perfect for when you’re in a cooking rut or don’t have much time to fritter away in front of the stove, but still want something good to eat (without going for that takeaway menu).

My culinary inspiration for the week ahead:

Pitta pizzas

Pitta pizza

One of my own recipes, it’s a sure-fire favourite in our household. Everyone loves pizza and you can customise them endlessly with whatever is in the cupboards.

Tuna and bean salad

Tuna and white bean salad on plate
Image from EatingWell.com

A true cupboard staple, I always have the ingredients for this simple dish in the house. You don’t even really need a recipe (although this simple bean salad will do). Just mix together some cannellini beans, tuna, olive oil, a little vinegar, salt, pepper and herbs. Flakes of chilli would work nicely. I like to serve it on slices of seeded or wholemeal toast for an easy TV dinner.

Jacket potatoes

Jacket baked potato

You really don’t have to think much about making a jacket potato, apart from the fillings you prefer. Rinse a potato, stab it a couple of times with a fork or knife, pop it into the microwave for 10 minutes and then into a hot oven for a maximum of 30 minutes until it’s gone crispy and you have a meal with absolutely no effort. I’ve made them in the past week in between showering and getting ready for work. When I get home, I can go for a walk or potter around and only have to heat them up and provide a filling (baked beans and salad was our go-to this week).

What are your go-to meals when you’re having a lazy day? Are any of these dishes sounding good to you?

Image source

One thought on “This week, I’m craving…

Leave a Reply

