This week, in the jungle… Vol. 45

 

The sun is finally out, hooray! I’ve been enjoying walking to and from meetings through the park and lunch breaks sitting on the grass. A glass of something after work has been beckoning in the past couple of days, more to enjoy the close-of-day sunshine in a busy beer garden than for any stress-related reason.

One thing I haven’t been able to get enough of (and I don’t think I ever will) are the cherry blossoms that abound in the streets and parks at this time of year. Next time you walk past, touch them. They’re so tactile and soft. You’ll wonder why you never thought to do it before.

Yesterday evening I took some time to explore a new-to-me neighbourhood and then stopped by my polling station to vote in the Welsh Assembley elections. The sun was still warm, people were out walking their dogs or with their children, and couples were strolling to the polling station hand in hand. It left me with the most wonderful feeling of community. Voting always makes me feel happy and calmly excited about doing my civic duty but seeing others carrying theirs out . Every day should hold a little sunshine and idealism.

Lunch break picnic

This week’s likes:

Amazing weather – Exciting new work projects – Community spirit

Watch – The first new episode of Outlander (season 2)/ Bob Geldorf on W. B. Yeats

Eat – Sweet and sour stir fry/ Chicken skewers/ Beef burritos/ Muesli with blueberries

Listen – Chris Cornell live; one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to.

Read – Still stumbling through Dostoyevsky’s The Possessed

 

What’s your favourite thing about spring? Do you enjoy voting or do you find it more of a chore? Have you ever touched the cherry blossoms?

 

Leave a Reply

